h1

Pain in the…

November 3, 2007

Today has been another bad day but that is not a surprise considering it is a non gym day. Lately I feel so demoralised on days I am not working out. It is ridiculous given that there is nothing to stop me from getting exercise therefore I must assume it is just a psychological reaction (as opposed to being addicted to exercise!). Again today, it was after weighing in that my downward spiral began. I cannot stay away from the scales so I am having them sent to my mums for a while. I will weigh in in town once per week.

It hasn’t helped that I have been laid up all day. When I woke up the small of my back was really aching and as the morning wore on it got worse to the point where I could barely walk. I havent really had any trouble in my leg since the day after I saw the doctor (except for the odd twinge) but the small of my back has been giving me trouble on and off. I am not convinced that I do not have Sciatica. I have all the symptoms of it and if it was just a pulled muscle in my bum it wouldn’t be giving me trouble in this way. And the meds the Dr gave me havent touched the pain either. So I had to spend most of today resting and just hope I am well enough to get myself through my review tomorrow.

I think I am going to discuss these problems with my instructor because pain is always worse after a workout. And I am going to get a work out that I can do every day because I know if I work out every day that will set me up for the day. I am going to put myself out there to you guys by saying that I think a part of my problem with my lack of control over the food is loneliness. For one reason or another, I have been feeling this way lately. I live alone and am not close to any of my family except for my son. And I lost many of my friends when I got fat (you know how it is) and the ones I do have at the moment seem to have drifted away… and I work for myself from home so my gym sessions are really my only connection with people. Everything I am going through does make sense in my mixed up head.

In case you haven’t noticed yet, I’ve put a couple of pictures on my about page. The first one I weighed 266lbs, the second one about 240lbs and the third one 216lbs…

6 comments

  1. You know….your nerve/back pain sees to have coincided with your new bed…maybe it is too soft or hard or something??


  2. I’m sorry you’ve had a bad day. And boy, can I relate to the loneliness. I often wonder how I can live in a house with 4 other people and feel so alone. I work from home also, so I understand that isolation as well.

    I hope you’ll be feeling better soon – physically and emotionally. (((Hugs)))


  3. I was so hoping to see your pretty face in those pictures but WOW what a difference!!

    If they are convinced it isn’t sciatica (even though it sounds like it is) perhaps because you were in so much pain and limping or favoring one side, you strained additional muscles in your lower back. I think you should talk to your instructor and if it still isn’t better, get back to the doctors.

    I hope you feel better soon
    {{{{{Hugs}}}}}


  4. Sparkly – No, its nothing to do with my bed, my bed is just lovely. Anyway, I’ve had my bed for ages now and the pain problems started only about two weeks ago. The pain happened when I was carrying the vaccum cleaner up the stairs. I turned funny and got shooting pains from my bum down to my calf on the right side, and it has not been right since then.

    Susan – thanks. I know the feeling lonely around people thing too. I felt like that when I used to live with my family too.

    Diana – no face pictures, it is important for me to stay anon on this, given it is a public journal and is about being fat/losing weight. But believe me, there is nothing pretty about my face!

    I am not sure but the pain in the lower back has been there since the start but when I had the leg pain it was much less. The thing is my dr said it could take ages to disappear so there is no point in going back because he will still offer the same diagnosis.


  5. I was thinking how in the last picture…you look like the same weight as I am! (188) You must be tall and/or very proportionate. Either way, lucky you!


  6. LOL! Well I have always been in a lesser dress size than others who weigh the same as me. I put this down to always having exercised over the years (on and off). When I started my instructor said my body fat was low for how much I weighed. I am 5’6” so not overly tall. And I dont feel like my shape is good to me, I feel horrendous but I have a better attitude now and am quite excited by that!



Leave a comment