Archive for November 29th, 2007

h1

Mixed Up Mess (In My Head)

November 29, 2007

I am sorry I have been AWOL for a few days. I have been going through some emotional turmoil and I wasn’t following my diet much less bothering with mine or other people’s blogs with any sense of commitment.

My sleep, due to the emotional turmoil, has been a complete mess too. As a result I have been eating crap (mostly bread) and not eating meals and stuff. Day and night. I was really worried about getting on the scales this morning as it was the first time in 3 days but doing so has saved me. I have lost 3lbs. REALLY not sure how that one happened! I have been GORGING. And I havent been to the gym in over a week. I guess my motabolism is just in much better shape these days. (I have the flu/cold as a reason for not having been to the gym.)

When we think about losing a significant amount of weight, we do think of the problems we may encounter. These, we assume, are largely our own psychological issues. But to anyone who has lost a significant amount of weight, or if you know someone who has, do you find personal relationships change with the weightloss?

The dynamics of some of my relationships are changing. Some for the better, others not so much. I really do not want to go into details here but I guess losing weight, gaining in confidence and becoming more attractive to the opposite sex can bring its own problems. How we deal with them is paramount, I guess. I lost my social skills to a large extent when I became morbidly obese and am trying to re-learn them but it is a long and sometimes debilitating journey. For example, looking better in the mirror than I feel in my head is weird. You have the new found confidence from obviously looking better and yet your head-space is still screaming ‘you fat, good for nothing, waste of space – go hide now!’ Trying to bring the two together, while trying to convince those around you that you are still ultimately the same person you was six months ago is a skill I am yet to learn.