h1

Jack Osbourne on Weightloss

August 21, 2007

I was reading a magazine at the gym today where Jack Osbourne was asked if he felt proud of himself for losing weight.

He responded with ‘not really… I mean, I’d feel proud if I saved a baby from a burning building or something… but for getting off my lazy arse and getting my health back…? Not so much…’

I’m paraphrasing of course, because I don’t have the magazine with me but I liked his point that it is something we should do anyway, without self congratulation.

But on the other hand when you are fat it *is* a task and a half getting yourself back in shape and staying that way. And you deserve all the praise you get when you do this…

I am in the process of packing as I am moving tomorrow (if I disappear for a few days it is because I am waiting for my phone to be connected up). Whilst packing I got out a pair of jeans to box up. These are jeans I bought about two years ago but have never worn them because I couldn’t get them past my bum! Well I decided to try them on and not only did they go all the way up but I was able to do them up and sit down in them too!! They are still a tad tight but it’s something that I have come so far in such a short space of time! I am seeing changes daily now.

6 comments

  1. i’m agree with him to some extent….though i must admit that i am proud of me…and will be prouder and prouder as i lose each pound. i am saving a life…mine.


  2. I just discovered your blog. Congratulations on your 30 lb. weight loss! That is great! I think you should be proud of that, and I think any of us who lose weight should be proud of our accomplishment. I agree with Lady T. We are saving a life…our own.

    Keep up the good work! I’ll be checking on you to see how you’re doing! šŸ™‚


  3. I’ve got a pair of size 38 jeans that I bought a couple of years ago that have never been worn, and still have the tags on. Been sitting on my shelf mocking me. I’m guessing I could fit in them with about 20 pounds of weight loss. That may have to be one of my first goals!


  4. I guess the pride in getting fit again is sometimes countered by the disgust at one’s self for letting it get to where it got. Be really really proud of yourself C, It’s hard f-ing work. šŸ™‚ But I get what he’s saying, there are more valuable things to be proud of than just weightloss, like what you’ve done for society, or for other people – really selfless acts. But you have every right to be proud and utterly pleased with yourself for what you’re accomplishing in terms of fitness/weightloss. šŸ™‚

    And speaking of selfless acts…..

    Yesterday I wasn’t in the best of moods, but then what did the BetzyMonster herself find in the mailbox??? A cute pad and pen, both covered in cutey little monsters! And stickers! I’ve stuck 3 stars on already šŸ™‚ Yay! Thank you so much C, you really brightened my day!!!! *hugs*


  5. Betz
    I’m glad you liked your birthday/incentive/thanksforbeingafabfriend gift! And, w00t, it arrived before the 31st!!


  6. My mom and dad sent me a card with a tombstone stuck in a cake and it said “With sympathy, for the loss of your 20’s” HOW MEAN!!
    Heh heh



Leave a comment